### **Question on Notice**

No. 92

# Asked on 15 February 2024

MR J LANGBROEK ASKED MINISTER FOR TRANSPORT AND MAIN ROADS AND MINISTER FOR DIGITAL SERVICES (HON B MELLISH)—

### QUESTION:

With reference to accessible transport—

Will the Minister (a) provide a list of train stations in Queensland that are not fully accessible for people with a disability and (b) advise of the plans to upgrade these stations to meet accessibility standards?

#### ANSWER:

I thank the Member for Surfers Paradise for the question.

Queensland Rail has 100 stations that have independent access.

No state or territory has met the national timeframes under Disability Standards for Accessible Public Transport. A number of factors impact full accessibility of upgraded Queensland Rail stations, including the horizontal gap between the platform and train, which does not provide direct unassisted access for customers, as well as the retention of non-compliant infrastructure such as stair access from subways (eg. Auchenflower station kept its stairwells at one end of the platform post upgrade).

But Queensland Rail is working to make all stations independently accessible, by providing a single access path from accessible station entrances to the assisted boarding points. This is gradually being achieved through the installation of lift-accessible footbridges, platform raising, and upgrading accessible parking, essential station and customer facilities.

A total of 42 stations are in planning or being built to improve accessibility as part of a range of dedicated programs and broader construction across the rail network.

Since 2015, 13 stations have been upgraded to provide independent access to customers as part of Queensland Rail's \$700 million Station Accessibility Upgrade Program (SAUP). Two Queensland Rail stations—Yeronga and Fairfield—have recently been upgraded with improved accessibility and are the first stations on the Queensland Rail network to have rubber gap fillers installed to reduce the horizontal gap between the platform and trains.

A further six stations are currently being upgraded through the program:

Banyo
Burpengary
Bundamba
Morningside
Lindum

As part of the Cross River Rail Project, 15 accessible stations are being delivered that will provide improved accessibility for customers with key innovative features including:

- platform gap fillers
- braille and tactile signage and station maps
- through lifts
- raised platforms
- accessible parking

- hearing loops
- full-length mirrors in bathrooms.

## Those stations include:

Dutton Park
Fairfield
Yeronga
Yeerongpilly
Moorooka
Rocklea
Salisbury
Exhibition
Pimpama
Woolloongabba
Boggo Road.

These stations have all been co-designed with people with disability lived experience to ensure the best functional outcomes for customers.

Upon completion of the SEQ Station Accessibility Upgrade works currently under construction, Cross River Rail upgrades to existing stations and the delivery of seven new stations, 71.07 per cent of SEQ stations will be independently accessible (113 of 159 stations).

There are 52 operational stations across SEQ (excludes stations currently closed for accessibility upgrades) not offering independent access through the station precinct to the platform via accessible ramps and/or lifts:

accessible ramps and/or lifts:								
Albion	•	Holmview	•	Taringa				
Ascot	•	Karrabin	•	Thagoona				
Bethania	•	Keperra	•	Thomas Street				
Bindha	•	Loganlea	•	Thorneside				
Booval	•	Lota	•	Traveston				
Bray Park	•	Mooloolah	•	Trinder Park				
Chelmer	•	Moorooka	•	Wacol				
Clayfield	•	Murarrie	•	Walloon				
Cooroy	•	Norman Park	•	Wellington Point				
Coorparoo	•	North Boondall	•	Wilston				
Deagon	•	Northgate	•	Windsor				
Doomben	•	Nudgee	•	Wooloowin				
Ebbw Vale	•	Ormiston	•	Wynnum				
Eden's Landing	•	Palmwoods	•	Wynnum Central				
Enoggera	•	Riverview	•	Wynnum North				
Eudlo	•	Salisbury	•	Yandina.				
Gailes	•	Sherwood						
Gaythorne	•	Sunshine						
	Albion Ascot Bethania Bindha Booval Bray Park Chelmer Clayfield Cooroy Coorparoo Deagon Doomben Ebbw Vale Eden's Landing Enoggera Eudlo Gailes	Albion Ascot Bethania Bindha Booval Bray Park Chelmer Clayfield Cooroy Coorparoo Deagon Doomben Ebbw Vale Eden's Landing Enoggera Eudlo Gailes	Albion Ascot	Albion Ascot				

However, 34 of these stations are partly accessible with customers requiring assistance, to board or disembark a train at the following stations, encouraged to use the assisted boarding point on the platform so that Queensland Rail staff can deploy a ramp to help them board and disembark the train.

Queensland Rail's Regional network has 61 stations for the sole use of long distance and tourism services. While the following don't currently offer independent access through the station precinct to the platform via accessible ramps and/or lifts, they do offer assisted access:

io i	ne piationii via accessible rai	nps ar	id/or lifts, they do offer assis	ieu ac	Cess.
•	Alpha	•	Bowen	•	Cloncurry
•	Anakie	•	Bundaberg	•	Croydon
•	Ayr	•	Cairns	•	Dalby
•	Babinda	•	Cardwell	•	Duaringa
•	Barcaldine	•	Carmila	•	Duchess
•	Blackbull	•	Charleville	•	Emerald
•	Blackwater	•	Charters Towers	•	Freshwater
•	Bluff	•	Chinchilla	•	Gatton

Giru
Gladstone
Gordonvale
Helidon
Home Hill
Howard
Hughenden
Ilfracombe
Ingham
Innisfail
Jericho
Julia Creek
Kuranda

Laidley Proserpine Longreach Richmond Mackay Rockhampton Maryborough West Roma Miles Sarina Miriam Vale St Lawrence Mitchell Toowoomba Morven **Torrens Creek** Mount Isa Townsville Tully Mount Larcom Yuleba. Normanton Oakey Pentland

Queensland Rail is in early planning stages for the Regional SAUP which is focussed on Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Bundaberg and Maryborough West stations