Question on Notice No. 515 Asked on Tuesday, 9 May 2023

MR L MILLAR ASKED MINISTER FOR ENERGY, RENEWABLES AND HYDROGEN AND MINISTER FOR PUBLIC WORKS AND PROCUREMENT (HON M DE BRENNI)

With reference to the ministerial statement made by the Minister on 18 April 2023, of 56 new homes to be provided across Queensland including in the Gregory towns of Tambo, Winton, Lochington, Alpha and Capella—

Will the Minister advise (a) how many new homes will be provided in each of these locations and (b) what is the intended use for each of the houses, such as government employee accommodation, essential worker accommodation, social housing or any other purpose?

ANSWER

The Department of Energy and Public Works (DEPW) owns and manages the Government Employee Housing (GEH) portfolio, supporting agencies to deliver essential services across Queensland. Offering safe and secure housing helps attract essential frontline government workers to regional and remote communities. These workers include doctors, nurses, paramedics, and police personnel, as well as teachers.

DEPW works closely with other government agencies to ensure the supply of housing matches the demand for government services. This enables new homes to be delivered in communities identified by agencies as having the highest need for more frontline workers. The operational requirements of government agencies for housing in particular locations is subject to change. For example, the previously identified operational requirement at Lochington has recently been updated to Injune.

As part of the GEH package of \$519.2M towards the delivery of 439 additional residences, the 56 residences, as referenced in the Member's question, will be delivered through the innovative Modern Methods of Construction (MMC) program, enabling the construction phase to continue while location and sites are being finalised.

(a)

The 56 residence locations are Augathella (1), Birdsville (1), Blackall (8), Bloomfield (1), Capella (1), Coen (1), Injune (2), Julia Creek (1), Marlborough (1), Miriam Vale (2), Mitchell (1), Rolleston (2), St George (2), Surat (3), Tambo (3), Texas (12), Winton (8), Wondai (6).

In addition to the above 56 residences, a further 8 government employee residences will be constructed at the QBuild Rapid Accommodation and Apprenticeship Centre (QRAAC) in partnership with MMC suppliers. While the location of 4 residences are still to be finalised, the remaining 4 residences will be located at Alpha (1), Baralaba (1), Texas (1) and Thargomindah (1).

(b)

The intended use of the above residences is for government employee housing.