Question on Notice

No. 1440

Asked on 15 November 2023

MS A LEAHY asked the Deputy Premier, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning and Minister Assisting the Premier on Olympic and Paralympic Games Infrastructure (HON S MILES) –

QUESTION:

With reference to grant programs to support Indigenous councils and their communities for each financial year 2021-22 to 2022-23—

Will the Deputy Premier provide for each individual program (reported separately) (a) the total level of funds allocated for each of the financial years, (b) the date of program commencement, (c) the life of the program in financial years, (d) the amount of funding already expended in each program and (e) the allocated amounts to each recipient?

ANSWER [MINISTER FOR HOUSING, LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND PLANNING AND MINISTER FOR PUBLIC WORKS (HON M SCANLON)]:

On 18 December 2023, I was appointed as Minister for Housing, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Public Works and as such, I am now the responsible Minister to answer this Question.

During the financial years 2021-22 to 2022-23 the Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning offered four programs which provided funding to specifically support Indigenous councils and their communities.

There were three annual recurrent programs, the State Government Financial Aid Program (SGFA), Indigenous Economic Development Grant (IEDG), Revenue Replacement Program (RRP) and one capital program the Indigenous Councils Critical Infrastructure Program (ICCIP).

SFGA, IEDG and RRP

The SGFA:

- (b) commenced in 1984 and provides untied funding to Queensland's 16 Indigenous councils as a financial contribution to assist them in meeting the cost of delivering local government services to their communities.
- (c) is an annual program.

The IEDG:

- (b) commenced in 2009-10 and provides a funding allocation to 15 of the 16 Indigenous councils to support permanent local government jobs.
- (c) is an annual program.

The RRP:

- (b) commenced in 2008-09 and provides a funding allocation to nine of the 16 Indigenous councils as compensation for the loss of revenue resulting from the divestment or surrender of profitable liquor licences by 31 December 2009.
- (c) is an annual program.

The following table sets out the allocations for SGFA, IEDG and RRP for the two financial years 2021-23. All allocations for the 2021-22 and 2022-23 financial years were fully paid to councils during the respective financial years.

Council	2021-22	2022-23
Council	(a), (d) & (e)	(a), (d) & (e)
SGFA Total Allocation	\$37,203,000	\$38,133,000
Aurukun Shire Council	\$1,403,806	\$1,438,899
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,882,745	\$1,929,810
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council	\$2,097,229	\$2,149,655
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,895,883	\$1,943,276
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,980,504	\$2,030,013
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,480,062	\$1,517,060
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council	\$609,035	\$624,260
Mornington Shire Council	\$1,403,807	,
Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,353,132	\$1,438,900
		\$1,386,958
Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council	\$4,762,439	\$4,881,490
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council	\$3,322,799	\$3,405,862
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,571,984	\$1,611,280
Torres Strait Island Regional Council	\$7,393,000	\$7,577,811
Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,949,866	\$1,998,609
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,297,694	\$1,330,134
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council	\$2,799,013	\$2,868,983
IEDG Total Allocation	\$1,440,000	\$1,440,000
Aurukun Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Mornington Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council	\$160,000	\$160,000
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council	\$160,000	\$160,000
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council	\$80,000	\$80,000
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council	\$160,000	\$160,000
RRP Total Allocation	\$3,525,000	\$3,525,000
Aurukun Shire Council	\$667,700	\$667,700
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council	\$764,700	\$764,700
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council	\$98,900	\$98,900
Mornington Shire Council	\$741,000	\$741,000
Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council	\$29,800	\$29,800
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council	\$150,200	\$150,200
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council	\$477,000	\$477,000
Torres Strait Island Regional Council	\$546,200	\$546,200
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council	\$49,500	\$49,500

Indigenous Councils Critical Infrastructure Program

ICCIP is a \$120 million funding program available for the 16 Indigenous councils across Queensland. ICCIP provides funding to support the upgrade or renewal of critical water, wastewater and solid waste infrastructure.

The ICCIP:

- (b) commenced on 1 July 2017 and was initially implemented as a five-year program running between 1 July 2017 through to 30 June 2022.
- (c) funding period has finished. The Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning is continuing to support councils to deliver.

The following table is a breakdown of each council's total approved ICCIP allocation and the total funding paid to councils across the life of the program, as at 30 June 2023.

Council	Total Funding Allocation (a) & (e)	Total Subsidy Paid to Date (30.06.23) (d)
ICCIP Total Allocation	\$120,000,000	\$92,877,270
Aurukun Shire Council	\$4,300,000	\$3,066,861
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council	\$3,900,000	\$3,814,399
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council	\$6,700,000	\$2,236,618
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council	\$3,700,000	\$3,624,009
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council	\$10,000,000	\$7,198,830
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council	\$1,810,000	\$1,444,173
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council	\$5,350,000	\$3,804,432
Mornington Shire Council	\$2,000,000	\$1,853,564
Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council	\$4,200,000	\$3,491,983
Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council	\$3,000,000	\$937,500
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council	\$6,100,000	\$1,743,000
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council	\$3,750,000	\$3,416,685
Torres Strait Island Regional Council	\$51,000,000	\$47,319,470
Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council	\$2,900,000	\$2,287,473
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council	\$6,800,000	\$4,417,088
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council	\$3,200,000	\$2,221,184
Department administration costs*	\$1,290,000	N/A

^{*}Note: \$1.29 million of the \$120 million was allocated to the department to meet program administration costs.