Question on Notice No. 1097 Asked on 13 September 2023

MR D LAST ASKED MINISTER FOR POLICE AND CORRECTIVE SERVICES AND MINISTER FOR FIRE AND EMERGENCY SERVICES (HON M RYAN)—

QUESTION:

With reference to the Minister's media statement dated 2 March and regarding combatting youth crime— Will the Minister advise (a) the total hours of high visibility patrols undertaken since the announcement, reported on a Police district basis, (b) the number of FTE sworn officers allocated to the State Flying Squad as at 30 June 2022 and 30 June 2023 and (c) the number of youth co-responder teams as at 30 June 2022 and 30 June 2023, reported on a Police district basis?

ANSWER:

I am advised by the Queensland Police Service (QPS) that:

(a) Since commencement on 2 March 2023, the total hours of high visibility patrols (overtime hours) by police officers and police liaison officers (PLOs) attributed to Operation Victor Unison is 26,332 hours to Pay Period 5 (Fortnight Ending 8 September 2023). The following table highlights the breakdown by District of these hours:

DC Regional Qld	9
Far North District	2,800
Townsville District	2,460.5
Mount Isa District	938
Mackay Whitsunday District	281.5
Capricornia District	1,066.5
Wide Bay Burnett District	136
Sunshine Coast District	329.75
Moreton District	1,559
Nth Brisbane District	2,501
South Brisbane District	2,729.5
Logan District	4,435.5
Gold Coast District	3,282.5
Ipswich District	1,842
Darling Downs District	1,644
South West District	317.25
TOTAL	<u>26,332</u>

(b) As at 30 June 2022, the substantive headcount for the State Flying Squad was 14 police officers.

As at 30 June 2023, the substantive headcount for the State Flying Squad was 16 police officers.

As at 31 July 2023, an additional 30 temporary positions (3 unsworn and 27 sworn) were allocated to the QPS in relation to Task Force Guardian up to 30 June 2025.

(c) As at 30 June 2022 there were eight (8) district Youth Co-Responder Teams across the state including Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, Rockhampton, Moreton, North Brisbane, Logan and Gold Coast.

As at 30 June 2023 there were thirteen (13) district Youth Co-Responder Teams established across the state including Cairns, Townsville, Mount Isa, Mackay, Rockhampton, Fraser Coast, Moreton, North Brisbane, Toowoomba, Logan, Gold Coast, South Brisbane and Ipswich.

South Brisbane and Ipswich Youth Co-Responder Teams, while established by 30 June 2023, officially launched on 1 July 2023.