Question on Notice

No. 39

Asked on 12 February 2019

MS A LEAHY asked the Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs (HON S HINCHLIFFE) –

QUESTION:

Will the Minister advise which communities in the Great Barrier Reef catchment do not have sewerage treatment plants (reported separately by community)?

ANSWER:

I thank the Member for Warrego for the question.

The Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council, Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council, Hopevale Aboriginal Shire Council and Yarrabah Shire Council use lagoon systems to treat sewerage. Bramston Beach in the Cairns City Council and Cardwell in the Cassowary Coast Regional Council rely on septic tanks.

There are also privately-owned systems on resorts located on the mainland and on islands in the Great Barrier Reef.

There are also smaller systems that do not release to land and or water that are not required to be licenced by the Department of Environment and Science.