



Speech By Hon. Steven Miles

MEMBER FOR MURRUMBA

Record of Proceedings, 13 February 2024

APPOINTMENTS

Miles Labor Government

Hon. SJ MILES (Murrumba—ALP) (Premier) (9.36 am): I wish to inform the House that on 15 December 2023, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor appointed me as Premier of Queensland. I also advise the House that other ministerial appointments were made subsequent upon my appointment as Premier including the elevation of the members for Aspley, Bundamba, Cairns, Jordan and Pine Rivers to the cabinet. I will have more to say shortly but with these fresh new faces comes a renewed vigour and focus on the people of Queensland

I take this opportunity to thank the members for Miller, Barron River and Sandgate for their service as ministers of the Crown and for enabling renewal in the ministry. I know that they will continue to be hardworking members for their communities and serve on their behalf in other roles in this House.

Additionally, I pay tribute and thank the former member for Inala and former premier, Annastacia Palaszczuk, for her strong leadership and dedication to public service in Queensland. While I am sure there will be other opportunities to remark on her strong legacy, on behalf of my government I wish to thank Annastacia for her service and wish her well on her next chapter.

I also advise the House that on 18 December 2023, Her Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council, appointed assistant ministers. This has meant that the members for Pumicestone, Kurwongbah, Mansfield, Stafford and Ipswich were elevated to the assistant ministry. On behalf of my government, I congratulate those members. I can assure the House and the people of Queensland that my renewed team will continue each and every day to work hard for the people of Queensland.

I seek leave to incorporate the details of the current ministry and assistant ministry in the *Record* of *Proceedings*. I also table the *Extraordinary Queensland Government Gazette* of 15, 18 and 21 December, which outline all of these appointments.

Leave granted.

Ministers

The Honourable Steven Miles MP, Premier

The Honourable Cameron Dick MP, Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Trade and Investment

The Honourable Grace Grace MP, Minister for State Development and Infrastructure, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Racing

The Honourable Shannon Fentiman MP, Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women The Honourable Yvette D'Ath MP, Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence

The Honourable Michael de Brenni MP, Minister for Energy and Clean Economy Jobs

The Honourable Meaghan Scanlon MP, Minister for Housing, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Public Works The Honourable Mark Ryan MP, Minister for Police and Community Safety The Honourable Leeanne Enoch MP, Minister for Treaty, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships, Minister for Communities and Minister for the Arts

The Honourable Dianne Farmer MP, Minister for Education and Minister for Youth Justice

The Honourable Mark Furner MP, Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries and Minister for Rural Communities

The Honourable Glenn Butcher MP, Minister for Regional Development and Manufacturing and Minister for Water

The Honourable Scott Stewart MP, Minister for Resources and Critical Minerals

The Honourable Leanne Linard MP, Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef and Minister for Science and Innovation

The Honourable Nikki Boyd MP, Minister for Fire and Disaster Recovery and Minister for Corrective Services

The Honourable Bart Mellish MP, Minister for Transport and Main Roads and Minister for Digital Services

The Honourable Lance McCallum MP, Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development

The Honourable Charis Mullen MP, Minister for Child Safety, Minister for Seniors and Disability Services and Minister for Multicultural Affairs

The Honourable Michael Healy MP, Minister for Tourism and Sport

Assistant Ministers

Brittany Lauga MP, Assistant Minister for Health and Regional Health Infrastructure

Bruce Saunders MP, Assistant Minister for Train Manufacturing, Regional Development and Jobs

Julieanne Gilbert MP, Assistant Minister for State Development, Infrastructure, Industrial Relations and Racing

Ali King MP, Assistant Minister for Housing, Local Government, Planning and Public Works

Jennifer Howard MP, Assistant Minister for Treasury, Trade and Investment

Shane King MP, Assistant Minister for Clean Economy Jobs

Corrine McMillan MP, Assistant Minister for Education and Youth Justice

James Sullivan MP, Assistant Minister for Justice and Veterans' Affairs

Tabled paper: Extraordinary Queensland Government Gazette No. 97, dated 15 December 2023, regarding changes to Cabinet <u>156</u>.

Tabled paper: Extraordinary Queensland Government Gazette No. 98, dated 18 December 2023, regarding changes to Cabinet, assistant minsters and administrative arrangements <u>157</u>.

Tabled paper: Extraordinary Queensland Government Gazette No. 102, dated 21 December 2023, regarding changes to Cabinet <u>158</u>.