



Speech By Cynthia Lui

MEMBER FOR COOK

Record of Proceedings, 19 May 2020

ADJOURNMENT

Cook Electorate, Local Government

Ms LUI (Cook—ALP) (7.33 pm): On 29 March, Queenslanders took to the polls and we saw a massive shift to leadership in communities throughout the Cook electorate. I work across 14 local governments and one town authority. I am humbled to have met and worked with so many great leaders over the past couple of years who have worked tirelessly and passionately for the benefit of their community, from Mareeba to the Douglas shire and from Cape York to the Torres Strait. The Palaszczuk government worked closely with all 14 local councils and one town authority and maintained strong partnerships to deliver better services and infrastructure to improve social outcomes and create job opportunities for locals.

I want to acknowledge the former mayors—Julia Leu, Fred Gela, Edward Newman, Dereck Walpo, Rex Burke, Ralph Kendall, June Pearson, Desmond Tayley and Michael Yam—for their outstanding efforts. It has been my absolute pleasure to work closely with them for the betterment of our communities and I wish them all the best in their future endeavours.

Tom Gilmore was a long-serving mayor for Mareeba Shire Council and former state member of parliament. When I first met Tom, I immediately addressed him as 'Mr Gilmore' as a sign of respect. His response was, 'Tom is fine, my dear,' and that was the beginning of a positive relationship with Tom. Tom and I had many conversations about his vision for Mareeba. Tom recently retired after so many years giving back to his community. Tom, thank you for showing me the good side of politics and how to work effectively together for the benefit of the whole community. It has been an absolute pleasure to work with you, old mate, and I wish you well in your retirement.

I now turn my attention to the re-elected and newly elected mayors. Wayne Butcher from Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire; Vonda Malone, Torres shire; Peter Scott, Cook shire; Aileen Addo, Mapoon Aboriginal shire; and Michael Rowland, Weipa Town Authority, all successfully retained their seats. I want to acknowledge our incoming mayors in Keri Tamwoy, Aurukun Aboriginal shire; Philemon Mosby, Torres Strait Island Regional Council; Angela Toppin, Mareeba shire; Patricia Yusia, Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council; Michael Kerr, Douglas shire; Robert Sands, Kowanyama Aboriginal shire; Richard Tarpencha, Pormpuraaw Aboriginal shire; Janita Motton, Napranum Aboriginal shire; Bradley Creek, Wujal Wujal Aboriginal shire; and Jason Woibo, Hope Vale Aboriginal shire. I want to congratulate all of the mayors and councillors across the seat of Cook and pass on my best wishes for the term ahead.

I give special mention to my dad, Getano Lui Jnr, for retaining his seat of division 9 at Yam Island and being appointed Deputy Mayor for Torres Strait Island Regional Council for his final term in local politics. I am proud of you, Dad. In the words of Nelson Mandela—

Sometimes, it falls upon a generation to be great. You can be that great generation. Let your greatness blossom.