



Speech By Hon. Annastacia Palaszczuk

MEMBER FOR INALA

Record of Proceedings, 16 February 2016

APPOINTMENTS

Changes in Ministry; Government Whips

Hon. A PALASZCZUK (Inala—ALP) (Premier and Minister for the Arts) (9.36 am): I lay upon the table of the House the *Extraordinary Queensland Government Gazettes* of 4 and 8 December 2015 which outline changes to the ministry since the parliament last met. These changes include the appointment of the members for Sandgate, Brisbane Central, Springwood and Bundaberg as ministers, and the appointment of the members for Morayfield and Ipswich as assistant ministers. I congratulate these members on their appointments to the ministry. The members are already working strongly within the ministry to help deliver on my government's agenda for Queensland. I seek leave of the House to have details of all the ministry changes made on 8 December 2015 incorporated into the *Record of Proceedings*.

Leave granted.

Mr Speaker, I wish to inform the House that, on 8 December 2015, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, His Excellency the Governor—

(a) Appointed—

The Honourable JACKLYN ANNE TRAD,

to be Deputy Premier, Minister for Infrastructure. Local Government and Planning and Minister for Trade and Investment;

The Honourable CURTIS WARREN PITT,

to be Treasurer, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships and Minister for Sport;

The Honourable KATE JENNIFER JONES,

to be Minister for Education and Minister for Tourism and Major Events;

The Honourable WILLIAM STEPHEN BYRNE,

to be Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services and Minister for Corrective Services;

The Honourable STIRLING JAMES HINCHLIFFE,

to be Minister for Transport and the Commonwealth Games;

The Honourable MARK CRAIG BAILEY,

to be Minister for Main Roads, Road Safety and Ports and Minister for Energy, Biofuels and Water Supply;

The Honourable LEEANNE MARGARET ENOCH,

to be Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy and Minister for Small Business;

The Honourable SHANNON MAREE FENTIMAN,

to be Minister for Communities, Women and Youth, Minister for Child safety and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence;

The Honourable GRACE GRACE,

to be Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations, Minister for Race and Minister for Multicultural Affairs;

The Honourable MICHAEL CHRISTOPHER de BRENNI,

to be Minister for Housing and Public Works;

and

The Honourable LEANNE ELIZABETH DONALDSON,

to be Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries;

and

(b) Also appointed Ministers Hinchliffe, Grace, de Brenni and Donaldson to be members of the Executive Council.

In addition, on 8 December 2015, in accordance with the *Constitution of Queensland 2001*, His Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council, appointed—

Mark Thomas Ryan MP as Assistant Minister of State Assisting the Premier; and

Jennifer Ruth Howard MP as Assistant Minister for Local Government.

 Tabled paper. Queensland Government Extraordinary Gazette No. 71, dated 4 December 2015, regarding the resignation of Hon. Jo-Ann Miller and the appointment of Hon. Bill Byrne [55].

 Tabled paper: Queensland Government Extraordinary Gazette No. 73, dated 8 December 2015, regarding the appointment of ministers and Administrative Arrangements Order (No. 3) 2015 [56].

Ministers and Administrative Arrangements Order (No. 3) 2015 [56]. Ms PALASZCZUK: I also advise the House that the Hon. Stirling Hinchliffe, member for Sandgate, in addition to his appointment as minister, remains as Leader of the House and that, subsequent upon the appointment of the member for Springwood to the ministry, Mr Christopher Whiting, member for Murrumba, has been appointed Chief Government Whip.