# Queensland



# Parliamentary Debates [Hansard]

# **Legislative Assembly**

TUESDAY, 14 JANUARY 1879

Electronic reproduction of original hardcopy

## QUEENSLAND

# PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES.

### LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY.

## FIRST SESSION OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT,

#### APPOINTED TO MEET

AT BRISBANE, ON THE FOURTEENTH DAY OF JANUARY, IN THE FORTY-SECOND YEAR OF THE REIGN OF HER MAJESTY QUEEN VICTORIA, IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD 1879.

#### LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY.

Tuesday, 14 January, 1879.

Opening of Parliament.-Election of Speaker.

#### OPENING OF PARLIAMENT.

The House met at twelve o'clock this day, pursuant to proclamation, and shortly afterwards proceeded to the Legislative Council Chamber for the purpose of hearing the Commission opening Parliament read; and, on its return—

The ACTING CLERK read a Commission from His Excellency the Governor, authorising the Honourable John Douglas, C.M.G., the Honourable S. W. Griffith, and the Honourable J. R. Dickson, to administer the oath to members elect.

The following honourable members took the oath, and subscribed the roll:—

John Douglas, Maryborough. Samuel Walker Griffith, North Brisbane.

James Robert Dickson, Enoggera. James Francis Garrick, Moreton. Peter McLean, Logan.

Arthur Hunter Palmer, North Bris-

Thomas McIlwraith, Mulgrave. Henry Edward King, Maryborough. John Malbon Thompson, Ipswich. Joshua Peter Bell, Northern Downs. John Scott, Leichhardt.

Frederick Augustus Cooper, Cook.
George Henry Davenport, Toowoomba
and Drayton.

Francis Tyssen Amhurst, Mackay. Boyd Dunlop Morehead, Mitchell. Ernest James Stevens, Warrego. Henry Rogers Beor, Bowen. John Deane, Townsville. Patrick Perkins, Aubigny. Samuel Grimes, Oxley.

1879-в

Patrick O'Sullivan, Stanley.
Charles Lumley Hill, Gregory.
John Stevenson, Normanby.
John Walsh, Cook.
Jacob Horwitz, Warwick.
Francis Kates, Darling Downs.
Ratcliffe Pring, Fortitude Valley.
William Hendren, Bundamba.
Albert Norton, Port Curtis.
George Morris Simpson, Dalby.
James Lalor, Roma.
John de Poix Tyrell, Carnarvon.
Arthur Rutledge, Enoggera.
William Kellett, Stanley.
Henry Wyndham Palmer, Kennedy.
Francis Horace Stubley, Kennedy.
William Henry Groom, Drayton and
Toowoomba.

Archibald Meston, Rosewood. Richard Ash Kingsford, South Brisbane.

John Macfarlane, Ipswich.
Angus Mackay, South Brisbane.
William Miles, Darling Downs.
Thomas Macdonald Paterson, Rock-

hampton.
Archibald Archer, Blackall.
William Henry Baynes, Burnett.
John Hamilton, Gympie.
Frederick Ffoulkes Swanwick, Bulimba.

#### ELECTION OF SPEAKER.

The PREMIER (Mr. Douglas): Mr. Radford, I beg to move that Mr. Henry Edward King do take the Chair of this House as Speaker. I think it will require a very few words from me to justify this nomination. Mr. King has held a conspicuous position in Parliament on several occasions. He has ruled as Speaker in the past Parliament during two sessions, and his rulings, whilst in the Chair, have always been

characterised by ability and impartiality. I do not think we could find a fitter member to place in the Chair than the honourable gentleman, and I beg to move, therefore, without further comment, that Mr. Henry Edward King do take the Chair of this Assembly as Speaker.

Mr. McIlwraith: I beg to second the motion of the honourable gentleman.

Mr. King: Mr. Radford, I have to thank the honourable members who have spoken, for the high honour they have done me in proposing me for the honourable and responsible position of Speaker of this Assembly. I begto assure honourable members that, if is their pleasure, I shall enter upon it with a sense of the high honour they have conferred upon me, and in submitting myself to the House I shall endeavour to the best of my ability to fulfil the duties of my office with impartiality. I shall, if I am called to the office, enter upon it with the certain hope that I shall receive from honourable members the same forbearance and assistance that I received from the members of the last Parliament. With these few words I beg to submit myself to the pleasure of the House.

The honourable gentleman was then introduced to the Chair by the mover and seconder of the motion.

The SPEAKER: I must again beg to return thanks to the House for the high honour they have conferred upon me by electing me as the Speaker of this Assembly. I beg to assure the House that I shall do my best to perform the duties which have been entrusted to me in such a manner as to merit a continuance of the confidence which this House has reposed in me.

Honourable Members: Hear, hear.

The MINISTER FOR WORKS (Mr. Griffith): I rise, sir, in accordance with an old and honoured custom, to offer to you the congratulations of the House on being elected to fill the high and honoured position of Speaker. In a new Parliament such as this is, and composed of an unusual proportion of new members, the duties of Speaker in guiding their deliberations cannot be anything but onerous. We have the satisfaction, sir, of knowing that you have had considerable experience not only in the Chair but as a member of this House previously, and all of us who have had the pleasure of sitting in this House while you occupied the chair, know that your rulings have ever been firm and decided, and at the same time perfectly impartial. I am sure many honourable members who have taken their seats in this House since your first election to the office, owe you a debt of gratitude for the kindness they have received, and I am equally sure honourable members who now take their seats in the new House may with confidence look for the same kindly assistance. I congratulate, you, sir, upon

your election to the highest honour which it is the power of this House to bestow.

The PREMIER said he had ascertained that it would be convenient for His Excellency the Governor to receive the honourable Speaker and the House to-morrow at half-past eleven o'clock. He would move—

That this House do now adjourn until eleven o'clock to-morrow.

Question put and passed.