

Department of **Agriculture and Fisheries**

Our ref: CTS 19300/23 Your ref: A1164186

18/10/2023

Mr Chris Whiting MP Chair State Development and Regional Industries Committee sdric@parliament.qld.gov.au

Dear Mr Whiting

Thank you for your letter of 11 October 2023 regarding the examination of *Subordinate Legislation No. 80 Fisheries Legislation (Spanish Mackerel and Bar Rockcod) Amendment Declaration 2023* and the east coast Spanish Mackerel Fishery Working Group.

Information about the east coast Spanish Mackerel Fishery Working Group (SMWG), including the Terms of Reference, membership, meetings held and communiques from each meeting is available at www.daf.qld.gov.au/business-priorities/fisheries/sustainable/fishery-working-groups/spanish-mackerel-fishery-working-group/communiques.

There have been 3 meetings of the SMWG (17-18 May 2021, 7-8 February 2022 and 21-22 March 2022). The frequency of the meetings has been driven by consultation to establish a harvest strategy for the fishery, in line with the Sustainable Fisheries Strategy 2017-2027 and the Working Group's Terms of Reference.

An additional out-of-session meeting was held with the Working Group on 31 August 2022, to provide an update on the results from the final round of public consultation regarding proposed Spanish mackerel management arrangements.

Following an Expression of Interest (EOI) process for fishery working groups, the inaugural members of the SMWG were appointed on 6 April 2021, and stakeholder members included:

- **Commercial fishers:** Tony Lanzi, Chris Hain, Anthony Vass, Richard Gilmore
- **Recreational fishers:** Gary Powis, Ryan Tully
- Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority: Darren Cameron; and
- Conservation sector: Debbie Chamberlain.

Recreational fisher, Mr William Bowtell, was accepted as a late application to fill a gap in the recreational membership and provide an improved balance in the Working Group across sectors. His appointment was completed and notified in time to attend the first meeting.

1 William Street Brisbane GPO Box 46 Brisbane Queensland 4001 Australia Business Centre 13 25 23 Website www.daf.qld.gov.au ABN 66 934 348 189 Fisheries Queensland executive, policy, science and compliance staff also attended the first meeting. This meeting was chaired by Ms Sian Breen, who is a senior official in Fisheries Queensland with a wealth of fisheries management and science experience. From 28 June 2021– 31 July 2021, an additional round of EOI was run to fill existing vacancies in several working groups. This provided an opportunity to seek EOIs to fill gaps in the SMWG. Through this process the following members were appointed on 1 December 2021.

- Commercial fishers: Lee Drew, Peter Stevens
- Recreational fisher: John Robinson
- Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander community: Kirby Doak; and
- Charter Fishing Operator: Robert Drane.

On 18 January 2022, it was identified that the appointed member for the Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander community, Mr Kirby Doak, was not the nominated applicant but submitted the nomination on behalf of Ms Toni Hodges. Letters to correct the appointment from Mr Doak to Ms Hodges were sent on 24 January 2022. An additional change to the Working Group membership occurred with the resignation of charter fishing operator, Mr Robert Drane, on 18 March 2022.

In addition to Fisheries Queensland staff, including Ms Breen (Director - Fisheries Management) as the Chair, the current membership is:

- **Commercial fishers:** Tony Lanzi, Chris Hain, Anthony Vass, Richard Gilmore, Lee Drew, Peter Stevens
- Recreational fishers: Gary Powis, Ryan Tully, John Robinson
- Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority: Darren Cameron
- Conservation sector: Debbie Chamberlain, and
- Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander community: Toni Hodges.

I trust this information is of assistance to the Committee. If you would like any further information, please contact Ms Sian Breen, Director - Fisheries Management in the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries on the or email at

Yours sincerely



Dr Chris Sarra Director-General Department of Agriculture and Fisheries