

Mental Health Select Committee

Chair: Joe Kelly MP Parliament House Brisbane

Mental Health Select Committee established

Established on 2 December 2021, the Mental Health Select Committee welcomes the timely inquiry into the opportunities to improve mental health outcomes for Queenslanders.

"We know there has been an increase in the experience of mental health related illness in the community, and that there is a need to better understand the needs and demand pressures of Queensland's mental health system", said committee chair and Member for Greenslopes, Joe Kelly MP.

Guided by the terms of reference, the committee will investigate a range of key issues including: funding of and investment in mental health treatment and support at all levels of government, the current status of Queensland's mental health system, and ways to improve economic and social participation of people experiencing mental illness.

Joe Kelly MP advised, "This inquiry will raise issues that affect all Queenslanders, and the committee will be taking a bipartisan approach to the enormous task at hand.

The committee is moving quickly on this important issue. Today we are calling for submissions from key stakeholders, including Queenslanders with lived experience of mental health and their families and carers, service providers and professionals working in the field.

It is anticipated the committee will receive briefings from Queensland Health and the Queensland Mental Health Commission and hold public hearings in different parts of Queensland early in 2022."

To find out more about the inquiry, including the terms of reference and how to make a submission, visit the inquiry webpage at: <u>https://www.parliament.qld.gov.au/mhsc</u>

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Joe Kelly MP on (07) 0420 927 694 For further information: please contact the Committee secretariat on (07) 3553 6696 Email: <u>mhsc@parliament.qld.gov.au</u> or visit the <u>committee's website</u>

Committee Members

Mr Joe Kelly MP, Member for Greenslopes (Chair)	Mr Rob Molhoek MP, Member for Southport
Ms Ali King MP, Member for Pumicestone	(Deputy Chair)
Mrs Melissa McMahon MP, Member for Macalister	Dr Christian Rowan MP, Member for Moggill
Mr Barry O'Rourke MP, Member for Rockhampton	Ms Amanda Camm MP, Member for Whitsunday
···· , - ··· - ··· , ··· - ··· · ·· · ··· · ··· ··	Mr Robbie Katter MP, Member for Traeger