MEDIA RELEASE

Grey nomads to takeover Queensland outback

The highways and caravan parks of the Queensland outback may soon be overrun by grey nomads. The Queensland Parliamentary Economic Development committee has initiated an inquiry into developing Queensland's rural and regional communities through grey nomad tourism.

Grey nomads, an affectionate term for older travellers who take to a road travel lifestyle and frequent Australia's rural and regional sights, are an important section of Queensland's tourism market. Defined by their active and social lifestyles, these travellers tend to visit in off-peak periods and in rural and regional areas not always frequented by other tourists.

Committee Chair Evan Moorhead MP, said the committee will consider the role of grey nomads in Queensland's economy. "This will involve issues relating to grey nomad infrastructure requirements, the commercial camping and caravan park industry, and ways to market Queensland to this valued group of tourists".

Mr Moorhead, said the committee was interested to hear community and industry views. "This committee is seeking information on how we can make Queensland a more attractive and comfortable place for grey nomads to come, travel and relax".

"Grey nomad tourism provides a great potential for job creation, particularly in areas 'off the beaten track" Mr Moorhead said.

An issues paper that provides information on the inquiry, the committee, and how to make a submission is available online at <u>www.parliament.qld.gov.au/edc</u> or you can contact committee staff on 1800 504 022.

Submissions to the committee are due by 28 May 2010.

Economic Development Committee



Chair Mr Evan Moorhead MP

Deputy Chair Mrs Rosemary Menkens MP

Members

Ms Tracy Davis MP Ms Jan Jarratt MP Mrs Betty Kiernan MP Mr Shane Knuth MP Mr Jason O'Brien MP

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Economic Development Committee Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

Tel: (07) 3406 7486 Fax: (07) 3406 7509

For more information contact: Mr Evan Moorhead MP Chair, Economic Development Committee (Phone: 07 3200 3477)