### Economic Development Committee



**Chair** Mr Evan Moorhead MP

Deputy Chair Mrs Rosemary Menkens MP

#### Members

Ms Tracy Davis MP Ms Jan Jarratt MP Mrs Betty Kiernan MP Mr Shane Knuth MP Mr Jason O'Brien MP

## Correspondence and inquiries to:

Economic Development Committee Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

Tel: (07) 3406 7486 Fax: (07) 3406 7509

# MEDIA RELEASE

# Fixed speed camera inquiry considers excessive monitoring of Queensland's roads

In 2008, 72,178 fixed speed camera infringements were issued in Queensland. This number may dramatically increase in 2010 with the introduction of digital technology and an increase in the total number of fixed speed cameras.

This is one reason why an all-party parliamentary committee is inquiring into the road safety benefits of fixed speed cameras.

Mr Evan Moorhead MP, Chair of the Economic Development Committee, said the committee will look into the placement, effectiveness and efficiency of new and existing fixed camera technology.

As part of the committee's inquiry, input is sought from interested individuals, groups and businesses on the issue of fixed speed cameras and their proper role in Queensland's speed enforcement regime.

Mr Moorhead, said the committee was interested to hear community views. "Clearly, road safety and fixed speed cameras are important issues that affect all Queenslanders. The committee is keen to provide a forum where the community can voice their opinion on an issue that we know is of great public interest."

An issues paper that provides information on the inquiry, the committee, and how to make a submission is available online at <u>www.parliament.qld.gov.au/edc</u> or you can contact committee staff on 1800 504 022.

Submissions to the committee are due by 30 April 2010. Ends – March 2010