

**Community Support and Services Committee** 

**Public Hearing Program** 

## Criminal Law (Raising the Age of Responsibility) Amendment Bill 2021 Monday 14 February 2022

10:00am – 4:15pm

Undumbi Room Level 5, Parliamentary Annexe, Brisbane

Time	Witness	Submission	
10:00am – 10:30am	<ul> <li>Department of Children, Youth Justice and Multicultural Affairs</li> <li>Kate Connors, Deputy Director-General, Strategy</li> <li>Philip Brooks, Deputy Director-General, Youth Justice</li> <li>Michael Drane, Senior Executive Director, Youth Detention Operations and Reform</li> <li>Phil Hall, A/Director, Youth Justice Legislation</li> </ul>		
10:30am – 11:00am	<ul> <li>Department of Education</li> <li>Hayley Stevenson, A/Assistant Director-General, State Schools – Operations</li> <li>Dr Sharon Mullins, Executive Director, State Schools – Operations</li> </ul>		
11:00am – 11:30am	<ul> <li>Queensland Police Union</li> <li>Ian Leavers, General President and Chief Executive Officer</li> <li>Luke Moore, Policy Officer</li> </ul>		
11:30am – 12:00pm	<b>Bob Atkinson AO APM,</b> Co-Chair, Domestic and Family Violence Prevention Council and Chair, Truth, Healing and Reconciliation Taskforce		
12:00pm - 12:45pm	Queensland Human Rights Commission       •       Scott McDougall, Commissioner         Queensland Family and Child Commission	<u>67</u>	
	<ul> <li>Luke Twyford, Principal Commissioner</li> <li>Natalie Lewis, Commissioner</li> </ul>	<u>6</u>	
12:45pm – 1:15pm	n <i>Break</i>		
1:15pm – 1:45pm	Dr Terry Hutchinson, Adjunct Professor, Southern Cross University Tropical Brain and Mind Foundation (via videoconference)	<u>65</u>	
	<ul> <li>Dr Catherine Day, Chair</li> <li>Professor Sue McGinty, Deputy Chair</li> <li>Professor Max Bennett, Neuroscientist, University of Sydney</li> <li>Albert Abdul Rahman, Community Activist</li> <li>Dr Lynore Geia, Academic Lead, Indigenous Health, James Cook University</li> <li>Cathy O'Toole, Consultant on Mentally Healthy City Townsville</li> <li>Dr Carlo Longhitano, Forensic Psychiatrist, Townsville University Hospital and Associate Professor of Mental Health, James Cook University</li> <li>Professor Zoltan Sarnyai, Professor of Neuroscience, James Cook University</li> </ul>	<u>70</u>	



## **Community Support and Services Committee**

## Public Hearing Program

1:45pm – 2:45pm	Cooee Indigenous Family and Community Education Centre	
	Professor Boni Robertson	<u>16</u>
	<ul><li>Brett Nutley</li><li>Keith Hamburger</li></ul>	
	Common Grace	
	Brooke Prentis, Chief Executive Officer and Aboriginal Christian Leader	<u>47</u>
	<ul> <li>Bianca Manning, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Justice Coordinator</li> </ul>	
	ANTaR Queensland	
	<ul> <li>Dr Anne Brown, President</li> <li>Rev Dr Wayne Sendersen, Researcher and Advocate on Youth Justice Policy</li> </ul>	<u>58</u>
	knowmore	
2:45pm – 3:45pm	<ul><li>Lauren Hancock, Law Reform and Advocacy Officer</li><li>Roba Rayan, Senior Lawyer</li></ul>	<u>14</u>
	Youth Off The Streets	
	<ul> <li>Michelle Ackerman, Engagement and Support Manager</li> <li>Beny Bol, Logan Program Manager</li> </ul>	<u>55</u>
	Youth Advocacy Centre Inc	
	<ul><li>Katie Acheson, Chief Executive Officer</li><li>Janet McKeon, Policy and Systemic Reform Officer</li></ul>	<u>62</u>
	<b>CREATE Foundation</b> (via videoconference)	64
	Dr Joseph McDowall, Executive Director (Research)	<u>64</u>
3:45pm – 4:15pm	Queensland Law Society	
	Kara Thomson, President	61
	<ul> <li>Damian Bartholomew, Chair, Children's Law Committee</li> <li>Keryn Ruska, Member, Human Rights and Public Law</li> </ul>	<u>61</u>
	Committee (via videoconference)	

## **Public Hearing:**

This hearing will be broadcast live on <u>Parliament TV</u>, and available for viewing afterwards from the Committee's Parliament.TV Archive. A transcript of the proceedings will also be published in due course.

Attendance on the Parliament Precinct due to COVID restrictions: Please read the current advice on the <u>Committee Business</u> <u>Schedule</u> page about the rules to gain access to the Queensland Parliament precinct for committee proceedings. Please contact the committee secretariat for further details.

Those present for the proceedings are advised that they may be in photos taken by Parliamentary Service staff for purposes including posting on the Parliament's website or social media sites. The Queensland Parliamentary Service is committed to protecting the images collected for this purpose in accordance with the *Information Privacy Act 2009*.